July 25th

July 25 (14)

There was rain today. It felt wonderful. It is like we have been in a hot oven all Summer. The weather felt so nice I went for a walk before my work started for the day. Not far from the walls I found these beautiful foxglove flowers.

July 25 (3)

As most days I was working in the kitchen. I pulled fresh carrots from the garden again. They smell and look so lovely. I also found a small lizard in the garden. He was brown in color and seemed to be napping in the sun.

July 25 (8)

I made simple lunch of an egg pudding, and boiled vegetables. I also made a rice custard. I was worried there wasn’t going to be enough custard to go around as we had extra laborers at the Fort for the day. Without thinking I put 2 lbs of rice into the custard. It created the biggest rice custard I have ever seen. There was so much!!! I filled a whole bowl and there was still extra.

July 25 (12)

The best part of the day was acquiring a brand new bead. It is a lovely red color with a blue band around the middle. It is made of glass and I am very proud of it. It matches my coral necklace so I think I will re-string it so I can add in my new bead. The last view I had of the Fort that evening as I headed home was a deer eating apples in the orchard.

July 25 (13)

Leave a comment